Meet Our Team — Aldrick Bonaobra

Shiekina Añasco
OWNLY
Published in
3 min readJul 30, 2019
Aldrick Bonaobra, CryptoSolitaire.io Blockchain Developer

Around June of this year, a new member joined the CryptoSolitaire team. He may be very young to enter the workforce at 19, but he’s wise beyond his age.

Aldrick Bonaobra is naturally curious, a fast-learner, and willing to discover and absorb new knowledge. Traits that stood out during his job interview and caught our attention. He is a fresh graduate of Bicol University College of Science with a degree in Information Technology.

Why did you pursue IT?

When I took the National Achievement Test in high school, IT topped the results. It validated my choice which I already made even before the exam, of pursuing IT in college.

Did your family support your choice?

Before I discovered my passion in software development, I used to be very interested in engineering and tinkering. Maybe this is because I came from a family of civil engineers.

This includes my father, uncle, and several of my cousins. But they were very supportive of my decision to take up IT instead of engineering and were looking forward to me becoming a developer in the future.

How was your childhood?

I used to play a lot of Counter-Strike way back in elementary. It was the first computer game that I really loved. In high school, I also played Dota with my classmates.

Playing these games made me very curious of their inner workings. I guess this played (no pun intended) a big part in my decision to pursue game development as a profession with CryptoSolitaire.

What work did you do before joining CryptoSolitaire?

CryptoSolitaire is my first real company as a professional. But during my On-the-Job Training, I worked as a game developer for LMN Technologies and Lamina Studios. I also served as a game development mentor for young students during one of thier seminars.

While a student at Bicol University, I also participated in a lot of computer programming contests against other students even those in higher years. Most of the time we only achieve the second or third rank. But patience, hard work, and perseverance paid off when we won the championship during our senior year.

Were you confident that you will get the position in CryptoSolitaire?

Not that confident at the beginning because I’m just a fresh graduate and I’m sure there will be several other applicants, some with work experience already. But I believed in the few but meaningful experience that I had during my OJT. I also have some idea of how Blockchain works which I learned from the courses that I took on LinkedIn. This, combined with hard work I think gives me a little bit of an edge.

Why did you decide to stay in Legazpi?

Some of my classmates already moved to Manila but I prefer staying in the province compared to working in a bigger city. I also like the relaxed environment of CryptoSolitaire and the nice office in Ctrl Alt Work. I also like the company’s culture of continuous learning. We have the opportunity to learn the technology first instead of working on it immediately.

Aldrick helped develop the CryptoSolitaire.io website and is now working on the NFT smart contracts that will power the playing card deck being design by Chenandink.

Meet the rest of CryptoSolitaire’s developers in our “Meet Our Team” series so stay tuned! You can also follow us on our Facebook Page, Twitter, and Instagram to get frequent updates on our project.

Please check out the links below to learn more about how we are bringing traditional art to the next level through Blockchain technology.

Our Website: https://cryptosolitaire.io/
Telegram: https://t.me/cryptosolitairegame
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cryptosolitaire/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/cryptosolitaire
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cryptosolitaire.io/
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/cryptosolitaire

--

--