Example: 3% Net Profit in One Hour

Stu Carney
CryptoSwing
Published in
3 min readAug 20, 2018

I’ve received some of questions on how to use the app, so I decided to write about how I typically use the app myself. The following is an example of finding three entry points, and then the results one hour later. I’m not a financial advisor, and this is should not be construed as financial advice. My intention is solely to provide an example of how CryptoSwing could be used.

The screenshot below shows a set of trading pairs I marked/saved, based on higher volatility / BBW% (Bollinger BandWidth, % of current price), the price chart for existing and potential continued price “swinging,” and a current dip in price. The best performing cryptocurrencies, the ones that really show a sideways, sinusoidal motion with substantial volatility, were LINK, NAS, and ONT, and so those are the ones I choose for this trading example. They are also likely ones I would have actually traded.

For the purposes of this example, I will invest a total of $1,500, split evenly among these three cryptocurrencies. I just happened to focus on Etherium (ETH) as the currency for trading, but the app has all the active trading pairs from Binance, so trading with Bitcoin (BTC), Binance Coin (BNB), and Tether (USDT) are also available.

1) LINK/ETH: buy price will be 0.00101697 ETH.

2) NAS/ETH: buy price will be 0.006398 ETH.

3) ONT/ETH: buy price will be 0.007840 ETH.

Next, after an hour, I re-checked the same set of saved trading pairs, and of course the three I chose to buy. Here are the results. (see screenshot below)

As you can see, NAS and ONT went up very nicely. LINK did not, but may still if given more time. However, I normally sell if the volatility goes down. In this case, looking at the BBW%/price chart, it has indeed gone down.

1) LINK/ETH: selling at a price of 0.00099000 ETH, it would have been a loss of -2.65%, or -$13.26.

2) NAS/ETH: selling at a price of 0.007069 ETH, it would have been a profit of 10.49%, or $52.44.

3) ONT/ETH: selling at a price of 0.008049 ETH, it would have been a profit of 2.67%, or $13.33.

The net profit for this example, after just one hour of swing trading, resulted in a profit of $52.51, or 3.47%. Actual results from swing trading will vary for everyone, with potential profit or loss. Always do your own research. Happy trading!

--

--

Stu Carney
CryptoSwing

VP Software Engineering, Senior iOS Developer, Mobile/Web App Consultant, & Computer Engineer