Cryptoverse

Grzegorz Kapkowski
Cryptoverse
Published in
4 min readMar 11, 2019

For Blockchain Users

Hi, I’m, Grzegorz Kapkowski.

First of all I’m really happy that you’re here and I hope this article will help you understand my point of view and space I want to fill with Cryptoverse and it’s various projects.

But now a little bit of…

History

The beginnings of my adventure with blockchain and Ethereum reach 2016 when I entered the space with the idea to experiment with some new cool technologies. At that time I thought that maybe I’ll be able to do something with comment ranking systems on the internet using this new technology called Ethereum. I’ve meet Maciej Ołpiński and after some discussions about the problem we decided to create Userfeeds company to solve more general problem of reputation systems and ranking mechanisms based on economic signals using Ethereum and other blockchains.

I won’t bore you with details, you can probably still find some material from that time and track the things we’ve build during this time. All-in-all we weren’t able to gather traction for our platform and the company had to close.

The most of my understanding and thoughts about the topic of reputation and information filtering/ranking come from hundreds of hours spent on discussion on the core ideas in those spaces during my time building Userfeeds.

At the time when we searched for traction and new use cases for our platform we’ve build some interesting prototypes. One of them was Cryptopurr, social media platform for owners of CrypotKitty tokens. Unfortunately even Cryptopurr wasn’t able to gather much traction but it became the basis for my next venture.

After closing Userfeeds, I wanted to still experiment in this space so I decided to create new company and build Tok’n’Talk. This time we’ve enabled much more NFT tokens and created smoother more accessible product.

And again we failed to gather enough traction to continue working on it. At that time I decided to let go the team (Awesome guys btw, they literally created those products from scratch in an instant) and to refocus on something new.

At that time it became clear to me that I wont be able to create new products with new interfaces that will gather enough people to be sustainable. But the concept of human-to-human communication enhanced with economic based information filtering stayed in my head and was itching stronger and stronger.

I decided to take different approach to the problem and instead of creating new products and interfaces to use already existing technology and turbocharge it with all the things available in Blockchain space.

This is when I started working on ETHMail.cc, Cryptoauth.io, Repochain.cc and others (they don’t even have names yet).

Ok, that was longer than I hoped. Now to the important stuff.

Vision

Communication/Coordination tools for blockchain users

Communication is important. It allow coordination inside large group of people. But for this coordination to be efficient, the communication tool needs to protect it’s users, work with them and for their benefit.

Only then we can have growing social groups that work together toward common goal.

By using transaction history, token holding, and other data from the blockchain I’ll be able to provide various tools for blockchain users and developers that are optimized for their social group and interest.

Multi chain future

I believe that multiple blockchains are here to stay, and that this space will be very dynamic for at least couple of years. That’s why I’ll be designing products that target multiple blockchains as data sources and provide users with unified (when it makes sense) experience for all of them.

Centralized Interfaces, Decentralized Data Sources

My focus for the foreseeable future are centralized interfaces/products. I believe that by adding blockchain based features (like information filtering) I’ll be able to provide unique experiences for users where this centralization is desired or at least tolerable.

When possible I’ll be exploring creating open data layers (IPFS for email/attachment storage) that will be used by multiple centralized interfaces.

If you can choose between 20 different centralized interfaces that use that same open data layer underneath, is the system as a whole still centralized?

Non-financial use cases

The whole point of Cryptoverse is to explore products outside of financial use cases of blockchains, focusing instead on implications of ownership and history of interactions stored on the blockchains.

Those data can be used as basis for information filtering, reputation and recommendation systems in existing products and interfaces.

Some of you must be like “WTF dude? No decentralization, no financial use cases? Do you really know what blockchain is about?”.

I understand that, yet, I feel blockchain can and should be used also in different contexts.

There is this vast unexplored space where blockchain is source of information and centralized products use it to provide better experiences.

I’m in this space and I’m going to explore it with my products.

There is already a lot of people exploring decentralized protocols, products, applications and a lot more exploring financial use cases of blockchains. MAny of them are doing really good job, I hope they will succeed, and I’ll be probably incorporating their projects into mine in the future.

Currently available products

ETHMail.cc

Mailbox for every Ethereum user

Cryptoauth.io

Identity Provider for Ethereum users

Chat for Ethereum Users

Show case of Cryptoauth.io integration with unmodified open source chat system (Rocket.Chat)

Contact

You can contact me via:

Email: 0x3b4361d03567a941877299f49b938f050c468651@ethmail.cc

Twitter: @xunkulapchvatal

--

--