Week of 17 Feb

Ameya Joshi
CS 373 Ameya Joshi
Published in
2 min readFeb 24, 2020

What did you do this past week?

I had a big quiz on Tuesday which I think went well. The most significant thing I did was to work on the project. I didn’t even know HTML until 2 days ago, and since there’s not enough time to actually learn everything I need to know, I’m just going with the flow and using StackOverflow and React Bootstrap’s website to try and mash together all the pages we need.

What’s in your way?

The biggest thing in my way is that I don’t know anything about React, and neither do any of my group members. All I’m really going to do is try and learn things as we go along and hope we make something that looks good.

What will you do next week?

I’m busy studying tomorrow for a quiz on Tuesday. After that, it’s just IDB. We’ve got all the elements positioned for all the pages except the About page, and what’s left is styling and deploying it, which might be a challenge because AWS Educate doesn’t give SSL Certificates even though they normally give it for free.

What was your experience of iteration, AWS, and Chef Secure?

Iteration in Python seems very strange, but I guess it’s designed to try and force all your loops to be in a certain format, so it’s fine. AWS is useful, but I that I can’t follow basic tutorials since AWS Educate has a lot of restrictions. Chef Secure was interesting, but I’m not a cybersecurity buff, so most of what I saw went over my head.

What made you happy this week?

I got to playing Escape from Tarkov with some friends who I hadn’t talked to in a few months, so I feel really happy about reconnecting with them. I also think that for all the stress IDB is causing me, we’re at a point where although we won’t be ahead when Thursday comes like some others, we should at least have an amateurish website up.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to skip the documentation and just code, in particular with React. If you’re new like me, just sitting there looking at the docs is just meaningless and confusing. Just go out and figure out what components you need from React Bootstrap and try and arrange them as you need.\

--

--