Week of 24 Feb

Ameya Joshi
CS 373 Ameya Joshi
Published in
2 min readMar 2, 2020

What did you do this past week?

The biggest things I had to do was a quiz on Tuesday and IDB. I had the most time in our group to work on it, so I ended up spending the most time on it. I think I’m happy with how the website turned out though, but it really took a lot out of me since I was working so much the whole week.

What’s in your way?

Nothing much is in my way yet, but I am feeling pretty demotivated to work on the next phase because of all the work I have done and with the deadline being 3 weeks away, so I think I’ll try to fight it off.

What will you do next week?

I want this week to be the one where we set up the SQL database, so I’m expecting to learn MySQL and how to fetch data from our APIs. I also want to finish a paper that’s actually due the week after early, because I have a lot of work all due in 2 weeks.

What was your experience of comprehensions, generators, and yield?

I don’t really have a problem understanding what they do as much as why they exist. While I imagine there are use cases for them, I feel that they’re rare enough that people could just make their own versions of them as needed rather than building it into the standard library.

What made you happy this week?

Literally that the week is over. Last week was really hectic, while this one shouldn’t be hectic. However, since the week after I have 4 big assignments, I’m going to try and do 2 of them this week. I really just relaxed over the weekend playing Tarkov, so that was nice too.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick of the week is React Select. We were trying to use React Bootstrap’s native dropdowns when adding in placeholder’s for our filters but realized that they don’t support multi-select. React Select is a solution for that, a highly customizable dropdown. We’re probably not going to customize it and just stick to the basic version that allows multi-select, but it’s a useful tool even in it’s simplest form.

--

--