Week of 3 Feb

Ameya Joshi
CS 373 Ameya Joshi
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2020

What did you do this past week?

This week, I only had one real assignment to finish, and that was Collatz. I finished the solution for it in one session, but I still need to do the extra stuff like formatting, adding test cases, etc., but I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to have it all done in an hour tomorrow. The other thing I did was have talks with a Career Coach and get an idea on my job hunt, which really cleared things up for me.

What’s in your way?

Nothing’s really in my way anymore, but one thing that’s really making me nervous is the Career Fair. The current one is basically where I should be hunting for jobs for January 2020 since the Fall one doesn’t have too many companies searching for December grads, and I really don’t what to expect.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I plan on finishing Collatz’s additional stuff. If we talk about the next project and it’s simple and something new, I might also rush that down over the weekend. My main challenge is trying to impress companies at the Career Fair though.

What was your experience of exceptions, types, and operators?

I already knew of the usage of exceptions from OOP, so nothing really stood out to me. The unique data structures of Python did stick out to me though, particularly how mutable data structures can’t contain mutable data. For operators, it is surprising that no operators return anything, but Python does have a different syntax than I’m used to already, so whatever.

What made you happy this week?

A friend started sending me some Leetcode problems to prep for technical interviews, and I’m happy that I’m not horrible at them. I have a long way to go though, so I’m going to try and maintain a steady pace.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to go talk to your advisor or Career Coaches if you’re close to graduating and are confused about how to get started on job hunting. They help you focus on the right things. If you’re just going to accept a return offer from where you interned, best of luck to you!

--

--