Week of 6 Apr

Ameya Joshi
CS 373 Ameya Joshi
Published in
2 min readApr 13, 2020

What did you do this past week?

Early in the week, I had two tests to complete which I think went pretty well. Then, I did some work on fixing some of the points Professor Downing made about our phase 2 submission. At the start of the weekend, I started working on a group presentation for a different class. Then, I spent time working on the searching backend for phase 3.

What’s in your way?

What was in my way this week was just the amount of projects and exams I had. I have a lot of things to do, but I think I’ll manage.

What will you do next week?

Next week is all about my projects because I finally have 1 week without an exam in the middle. I’m going to focus on IDB until Thursday, then I need to finish up that group presentation by the end of the weekend, and I’ll probably then have to switch tracks again to studying for exams.

What was your experience of SQL?

While interesting, the SQL stuff covered in the class focused on joins and had little to do with our project, and it was also after when we needed the crash course in phase 2. I feel it would have been better if it was presented briefly earlier in the semester with a quick intro and then brought back again later featuring joins.

What was your experience of the ethics material?

I was actually already familiar with most of the ethics material beforehand. I took Ethics in Computer Science with Professor Norman, so it felt like a review for me, but I think that it’s important that every computer scientist knows that their software can have real-life consequences.

What made you happy this week?

Being done with exams (albeit for a week) is a pretty refreshing feeling. After phase 3 is over, I think I’ll be able to catch a little break, so I’m looking forward to this weekend.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to clean your place. My house has become a pigsty as I stayed indoors more, and a real cleaning beyond the regular vacuuming makes the place shine. Since your home is basically your work environment as well, it can really help boost your mood and be more productive if you keep everything clean.

--

--