CS371p Fall 2019: Ameya Joshi

Ameya Joshi
CS371p Ameya Joshi
Published in
2 min readSep 2, 2019

Hi, my name is Ameya. I was born in India, and I’ve spent half my life there and the other half of my life here in the US. I went to Taylor High School in Katy, Texas. I came to UT because I wanted a school with a great computer science program, and UT was the ideal choice in terms of academics, location, and price. I’m a heavy FPS gamer, and I got interested in computer science when I started wondering how my favorite games like Counter-Strike work. I started taking computer science courses in high school and enjoyed them, so I kept taking them for 3 years and reached a point where pursuing any major other than computer science didn’t even occur to me.

I’m taking this class because I want to learn C++, and OOP is critical in my other interests of iOS development and Swift. I expect to learn a lot in the class mostly through practical coding, which is my preferred way to learn compared to lecture tests. I don’t know any C++, but I’m looking forward to learning it. The first lecture was interesting — I don’t remember a class where the lecture is the professor constantly calling on students and holding discussions with them. I don’t like talking in public so I’m nervous about the cold calling, but Professor Downing didn’t seem to mind wrong answers, so I think I’ll make it.

Thanks for taking the time to get to know me, and I look forward to working with you this semester.

--

--