Blog Entry #11

Jeffrey Moulckers
CS371p Fall 2021: Jeffrey Moulckers
3 min readNov 14, 2021

This blog entry will cover updates on my progress in the past week in Object Oriented Programming with Professor Downing.

What did you do this past week?

This past week I focused on getting caught up with the recent topics covered in this class, such as vector, copy, assignment, etc. My free time from finishing the project early has allowed me to grasp some of the content a bit easier than before as we cover new things day to day.

What’s in your way?

All that is in my way is the procedural part of the project. This includes documentation, ensuring all coverage, assertions, and testing are in for our repo, and completing the submission. We were able to get HackerRank to pass quickly which took off a lot of stress from the week.

What will you do next week?

Next week I will likely get a head start (if possible) on the next project, and will begin to review past topics from the class to increase my understanding of the class. I hope to not stress myself out over the break in the case that our project is due that following Monday, which I hope is not the situation.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #12: More On Getters and Setters?

The paper that we read this week continued the argument the author made from a past paper outlining the dangers and pitfalls of getters and setters within object oriented design. I agree with the principles they outlined on how these “capabilities” lead to messy and unmaintainable design, and do not allow for future proofing your code.

What was your experience of initializations, copy constructor, copy assignment, move constructor, and move assignment?

I took a bit longer than expected to understand these concepts, but after doing some further investigation and leading the in-class exercises for my group I feel that I am back up to speed on the topics. To me it is interesting how many combinations of constructors and assignment can occur in C++, so I look forward to seeing how to apply this in our projects.

What made you happy this week?

I was able to finish the project quite early with my partner, which led to me being able to enjoy things out of class this week more than usual. I was able to play the new Apex Legends season, as well as play Battlefield 2042 on launch, which was awesome.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is related to web development and using standards related to JS. I experienced a ton of issues this past week with the HACS website (of which I am the head developer), and ended up having to overhaul the entire site to make it compatible with Heroku’s Node deployment. Always be sure to check which standard you hope to adhere to, and standardize this with linting, auto-formatting, and testing across your repository.

--

--