Blog Entry #12

Jeffrey Moulckers
CS371p Fall 2021: Jeffrey Moulckers
3 min readNov 19, 2021

This blog entry will cover updates on my progress in the past week in Object Oriented Programming with Professor Downing.

What did you do this past week?

This past week I worked hard to get the Darwin project turned in between myself and my partner. We got the assignment done quite early, but had to refactor to fit the design specifications tacked on in the middle of the project. Overall, this led to a few more hours of work, but we were able to get everything in on time.

What’s in your way?

As of now, I am just stuck worrying about my grade for this class because of the quizzes. I have had a huge problem with the grading structure due to the fact that I’m worrying about making a B in the class solely because of my quiz grade, and have no way to make up that part of my grade no matter how I perform on any assignment, in-class-exercise, etc. It is also frustrating to many students in the same situation when we are given 1 or 2 question quizzes that don’t allow room for error.

What will you do next week?

Next week I plan to get a head start on Project 5 so that I can finish off the semester as soon as possible. I don’t want any work bleeding over too far into December, and I want my free time to increase as the semester comes to a close.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #13: Why Extends Is Evil?

I did not read Paper #13 just yet this week. I am interested to see the argument against Extends and how this ties into class hierarchy.

What was your experience of vector and allocator?

I found vector and allocator to be fairly straightforward in concept, but I am still struggling on the quizzes. It is quite frustrating to be performing extremely well in the class, only later to be worrying about 2 question quizzes that leave little room for error in a 3 minute process.

What made you happy this week?

I was able to enjoy a lot of free time this week, part of which was spent playing with my IM flag football team, and we were able to make playoffs! I look forward to practicing them sometime next week to prepare for our first playoff game.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is to enjoy the most of Thanksgiving break and to give time to yourself in the next week. Many professors tend to add on work for the break, expecting large projects assigned on Monday to be due the following Monday, but I advise to get started early and take time to enjoy relatives and family during the break.

--

--