Blog Entry #8

Jeffrey Moulckers
CS371p Fall 2021: Jeffrey Moulckers
3 min readOct 24, 2021

This blog entry will cover updates on my progress in the past week in Object Oriented Programming with Professor Downing.

What did you do this past week?

This past week I focused on getting back on track with the allocator project as I worked for a solution in the time I had outside other classes. The rest of my time was spent catching up on lectures I had missed from the previous week.

What’s in your way?

The only thing currently in my way is my confusion over the iterator within the allocator project. I have been severely confused as to what purpose it serves, since this seems to be an internal iterator, yet does not allow us to access important pieces of data (such as the pointers). Maybe I’m just confused, but at this point I’m more comfortable completing the other methods without the iterator.

What will you do next week?

Next week I will complete the Allocator project as quickly as possible to get back on track with this class and free up time for other classes and work within outside orgs.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #8: Interface Segregation Principle?

I am always a fan of consolidating logic in the most concise way possible, and the ISP tends to support this (but in a more defined way, for sure). It relies on some very basic principles (as the previous principles have as well) to support a cleaner implementation that disallows redundancy and jumbled unsustainable code.

What was your experience of algorithms and iterators?

I appreciated the overview of iterators and the multiple exercises we went through to fully understand their functionality, but I wish we had more of an overview to bridge their use within the Allocator project (see above question for my issues).

What made you happy this week?

I was able to visit College Station this weekend to see some high school friends, and was able to relax a bit outside of the approaching deadlines for classes. Also, I plan to watch the F1 race with some friends at my apartment, which should be awesome. Hoping for a miracle 6->1 finish for Ricciardo today! Also, it’s always nice not to have to worry about Texas Football letting me down since they had a bye week.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is to jot down and save notes on the various tools you may encounter while developing, especially in the environment setup stage. I have found this to be especially useful in web development, since there are so many different APIs, debugging tools, frameworks, guides, etc. that could be consolidated with just a bit more effort. Apart from this, it could be especially helpful to take note of the various makefile commands provided by many of our classes, since professors tend to put many years into fine tuning these files to work for their students.

--

--