Blog Entry #9

Jeffrey Moulckers
CS371p Fall 2021: Jeffrey Moulckers
2 min readNov 1, 2021

This blog entry will cover updates on my progress in the past week in Object Oriented Programming with Professor Downing.

What did you do this past week?

This past week, I worked to finish the allocator project due for OOP, and finished working on projects for other classes. Ideally, turning in all of these projects will allow me to have a restful week this week before the next OOP project is due.

What’s in your way?

Currently nothing is in my way except for preparing my environment and version control for the next project in this class. My work seems to be caught up this week, and I don’t expect anything to hold me back from starting it early.

What will you do next week?

Next week I will focus on completing the next OOP project as soon as possible to free up my backlog and allocate more time to other classes once I have it turned in. Usually I am cramming my debugging and unit test creation for the very end of the project window, but I hope this can be resolved by this project to ease up the stress that I normally have.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #10: Dependency Inversion Principle?

I did not read paper 10 this week.

What was your experience of iteration, functions, and heap arrays?

I thought coverage of each of these topics was fairly straightforward, except I am still a bit unclear on how to use each iterator (such as weaker iterators for certain STL types) in different scenarios. This will be something to explore with the next project.

What made you happy this week?

I appreciated a fun weekend spent outside and with friends to celebrate a great Halloween. I always enjoy the colder weather and getting into holiday fashion early at the end of October.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is to allocate time to complete the paper and blog post every weekend, rather than letting it be a responsibility that needs to be remembered. I have found myself in past weeks wanting to complete these on Friday, but they have not yet been posted to Ed, so I push them to the back of my workload and sometimes forget them.

--

--