CS 371p Spring 2021: Brinda Prasad

Brinda Prasad
CS371p Spring 2021: Brinda Prasad
2 min readFeb 27, 2021

What did you do this past week?

I started working on Voting with my partner after our lecture on Wednesday, and we were able to implement a simple solution to the problem. I also attended the lectures on Wednesday and Friday and finished up Perusall for Paper #6. Most of my deadlines got pushed into next week so I’m anticipating it’ll be pretty busy.

What’s in your way?

I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed with the amount of work I have coming up in the next week, especially since a majority of it is group projects. It’s been a really strange and abrupt transition back into classes, so I’m definitely going to have to do some planning to make sure I can get everything done.

What will you do next week?

I’ll be meeting with my project partner throughout the week to continue working on Project #2. I’ll also have meetings next week for other group projects, so I’m going to be making sure nothing overlaps and that I leave myself time to work on my own individual tasks.

If you read it, what did you think of the Single Responsibility Principle?

I found the paper really interesting, especially since I’m not used to thinking about separating responsibilities in that way. I definitely tend to think of classes like objects that have several functions, so I don’t think of separating responsibilities naturally. However, it makes sense that depending on how the application is changing, it may be better to separate them based on responsibilities.

What was your experience of Voting and consts?

Voting’s a cool problem to work on! I didn’t know the Australian voting system worked that way.

How did you fare in the storm?

I lost running water for a bit, but other than that, my situation wasn’t too bad. I hope everyone’s safe and warm now — it’s been a rough week and a half.

What made you happy this week?

I called a few friends here and there over the past week to catch up, which has been really refreshing!

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Thanks to my project partner, I learned about an extension in VSCode called Live Share that lets you collaborate on code in real time. That’s what we’ve been using for pair programming!

--

--