Blog 10/19–10/25

Jeff
CS373-Blogs
Published in
2 min readOct 25, 2020

What did you do this past week?

I attended my online classes, swam, and did my homework.

What’s in your way?

I don’t think there’s anything in particular “in my way”. Maybe I could get a more disciplined schedule so I can be more efficient with my time.

What will you do next week?

I will continue to attend my zoom classes, do homework, and stay socially distant from others.

If you read it, what did you think of Ethical CS?

I thought Ethical CS was pretty interesting. It touched on a lot of interesting perspectives on ethics such as Categorical Imperative, Utilitarianism, and Human Irrationality and their application to CS and technology. I definitely think it’s important to consider the consequences of a technology and it’s impact on society.

What was your experience of functions, lambdas, and decorators? (this question will vary, week to week)

We’ve talked about functions before so I think this week was more about the “callable” type. I think python does it really well. I enjoy the functional paradigm of programming and python makes it easy. Lambdas are also pretty great. I used them all the time when I want to just write something really quick and it’s only used in one section of the code. I haven’t actually used a decorator in python before but they seem very similar to the decorators in Java and other languages so I can definitely see them being useful.

What made you happy this week?

I had KBBQ at a friends apartment.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I think one thing that has been helping me be productive is a mechanical keyboard. I used to use my laptop keyboard for typing but I would often mistype letters because the keys were so close together. But with a mechanical keyboard, the letters are more spread spread so it’s easier to type accurately and there is a keypad which makes typing numbers a lot easier.

Extra:

Gordough’s Public House. Country Clucker. The most masterful blend of fried chicken, pancakes, creamed corn, and candied jalepenos. Simply amazing. If I had to rate it, I would give it a 9/10 (which is really high on my scale for a $15 meal). Would recommend.

--

--