Blog 10/26–11/1

Jeff
CS373-Blogs
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2020

What did you do this past week?

I attended my online classes, swam, and did my homework.

What’s in your way?

I don’t think there’s anything in particular “in my way”. Maybe I could get a more disciplined schedule so I can be more efficient with my time.

What will you do next week?

I will continue to attend my zoom classes, do homework, and stay socially distant from others.

If you read it, what did you think of The Interface Segregation Principle?

I think the Interface Segregation Principle is pretty important to software engineering in the real world. When object oriented programming gets complex it’s pretty important to choose a design that allows flexibility yet enough structure to work with. I think the Interface Segregation Principle fits in nicely with determining how to structure the interaction between objects.

What was your experience of instance methods, class methods, static methods, regular expressions, and relational algebra? (this question will vary, week to week)

I think instance methods are basically universal especially with the idea of object-oriented programming. So to me it seems almost naturally to have instance methods. Class methods on the other hand seem very useful to object-oriented programming but I think it is probably more essential to functional programming styles. To be honest, Static Methods and Class Methods seem pretty similar to me use-wise other than the best practice of not using static methods to edit state. However, I could see both of them being useful. Regular expressions are soooo useful! I wish I learned regex earlier. It would have made my life a lot easier when I was interning. I had previously learned about relational algebra in my database class so it wasn’t too new to me. However, as I started working with increasingly more complex queries, understanding the relational algebra behind the query helps a lot with optimization. So it’s greatly appreciated.

What made you happy this week?

It was my friend’s 21st birthday so we had a few drinks and played some jackbox. I had a lot of fun :).

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I think one thing that has been helping me be productive is a mechanical keyboard. I used to use my laptop keyboard for typing but I would often mistype letters because the keys were so close together. But with a mechanical keyboard, the letters are more spread spread so it’s easier to type accurately and there is a keypad which makes typing numbers a lot easier.

--

--