Blog: 10/5–10/11

Jeff
CS373-Blogs
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2020

What did you do this past week?

I attended my online classes, swam, and did my homework.

What’s in your way?

I don’t think there’s anything in particular “in my way”. Maybe I could get a more disciplined schedule so I can be more efficient with my time.

What will you do next week?

I will continue to attend my zoom classes, do homework, and stay socially distant from others.

If you read it, what did you think of The Open-Closed Principle?

I think Open-Close Principle is super useful to how we are planning on designing our IMBD project. Like the article pointed out there are a lot of design decisions that need to be considered before writing code and when there are a lot of people working on the same project, it is super important to make these high level decisions before people start programming.

What was your experience of iterators, generators, and yield? (this question will vary, week to week)

I think iterators and generators are both very useful tools. I see generators as a shortcut iterator that is useful for iterating over values without going through the hassle of making an actual iterator. I also think the yield keyword is super useful and fits in with generators.

What made you happy this week?

I finally ranked up in tft.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I think one thing that has been helping me be productive is a mechanical keyboard. I used to use my laptop keyboard for typing but I would often mistype letters because the keys were so close together. But with a mechanical keyboard, the letters are more spread spread so it’s easier to type accurately and there is a keypad which makes typing numbers a lot easier.\

Extra:

This week I tried the toast, ricotta and bacon jam at Texas French Bakery on a whim. I thought it was pretty good just a little pricey. For $15, the appetizer came with 4 large pieces of bread and a bowl of ricotta and jam. The bread was very good. It was soft yet slightly sour and given the cool outdoor temperature, was a pleasure to eat. The ricotta was uniform and in my opinion almost flavorless. It was like I had yogurt on my toast but flavorless. I think the most standout part of the appetizer was the bacon jam. Before then, I had never tried bacon jam and I was a little hesitant to try it at first as well. I never would have expected bacon to pair well with something sweet like jam, but the pairing was perfect! Bacon is surprisingly good when paired with something sweet.

--

--