Blog 11/2–11/8

Jeff
CS373-Blogs
Published in
2 min readNov 8, 2020

What did you do this past week?

I attended my online classes, swam, and did my homework.

What’s in your way?

I don’t think there’s anything in particular “in my way”. Maybe I could get a more disciplined schedule so I can be more efficient with my time.

What will you do next week?

I will continue to attend my zoom classes, do homework, and stay socially distant from others.

If you read it, what did you think of The Dependency Inversion Principle?

I think it’s a very good principle to follow especially when building complex systems for industry. If everyone working on the same software followed this principle, it would definitely allow smoother software development.

What was your experience of relational algebra in Python? (this question will vary, week to week)

I think it’s very interesting that we did relational algebra in Python. Typically I only associate relational algebra with SQL. But I think it was a great learning experience. Python makes the coding part super easy. I think the hardest part was remembering what the different joins did.

What made you happy this week?

I made dumplings with my friends.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I think one thing that has been helping me be productive is a mechanical keyboard. I used to use my laptop keyboard for typing but I would often mistype letters because the keys were so close together. But with a mechanical keyboard, the letters are more spread spread so it’s easier to type accurately and there is a keypad which makes typing numbers a lot easier.

Extra:

This week I tried Pho Van, a pho place in north Austin. To be honest it wasn’t very good. The broth tasted like it was made with unfiltered tap water and the serving sizes were not spectacular. I don’t think I could recommend the restaurant.

Another place I tried this week was Benny’s food truck. I saw Benny’s on google maps a while back and I’ve been wanting to try it but I could never find it. We got pretty lucky today cuz the line at Don’s was too long so we were heading to the garage and saw Benny’s on the way. All the different meats make the sandwich pretty interesting from start to finish. They bread is well toasted and the cheese adds extra flavor. There’s also a slice of tomato that adds some contrast to the slightly dry bread. There’s a lot of mayonnaise that helps blend everything together but personally I’d prefer no mayonnaise or less mayonnaise.

--

--