Blog: 9/21–9/27

Jeff
CS373-Blogs
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2020

What did you do this past week?

I attended my online classes, swam, and did my homework.

What’s in your way?

I don’t think there’s anything in particular “in my way”. Maybe I could get a more disciplined schedule so I can be more efficient with my time.

What will you do next week?

I will continue to attend my zoom classes, do homework, and stay socially distant from others.

What was your experience of types, object models, and iterators? (this question will vary, week to week)

I think typing is pretty annoying. Personally I like strong typing so I don’t run into errors during execution. I think object models is actually quite useful because it gives a basis for everything. I don’t think iterators are too useful because they lack flexibility and their use case can be quite limited, but can appreciate them in certain contexts.

What made you happy this week?

I finally ranked up in tft.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I think one thing that has been helping me be productive is a mechanical keyboard. I used to use my laptop keyboard for typing but I would often mistype letters because the keys were so close together. But with a mechanical keyboard, the letters are more spread spread so it’s easier to type accurately and there is a keypad which makes typing numbers a lot easier.

Extra:

This week, I went to Suns Out Buns Out, a burger food truck on 26th and Rio. The first time I ate at this food truck was about 2 weeks ago and I though they had the best mid-ranged burgers in Austin, meaning they had the best trade off of price and quality. What makes the burger so good is the perfectly seasoned fresh patties which are miles better than any fast food patty and in my opinion, better than Five Guys. However, like almost every west campus food truck, Suns Out Buns Out’s hubris is quantity. The first time I tried the single patty burger which wasn’t even close to meal. It was basically a snack. So this time I got the double patty burger but it just felt like a bigger snack. And given the $9 price tag on the double patty burger, it needs to be a meal. In order for Suns Out Buns Out to excel next to the college campus their burgers needs either a cheaper price or larger quantity. In the end, I definitely think it’s a food truck worth trying and depending on one’s appetite, it could be an amazing meal.

--

--