CS 373 Spring 2021: Brinda Prasad

Brinda Prasad
CS373 Spring 2021: Brinda Prasad
2 min readFeb 27, 2021

What did you do this past week?

My group members and I met up to bounce ideas off of each other and settle on a project to submit for the proposal after our lecture on Wednesday. We also met to set up our issues on GitLab, work with API calls on Postman, and talk about what we need to do next. I also attended the lectures on Wednesday and Friday and finished up Perusall for Paper #6. As for my other classes, most of my deadlines got pushed into next week, so I’ve been doing some planning to make sure I use my time as well as I can!

What’s in your way?

I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed with the amount of work I have coming up in the next week, especially since a majority of it is group projects. It’s been a really strange and abrupt transition back into classes, so I’m definitely going to have to do some planning to make sure I can get everything done.

What will you do next week?

I’ll be meeting with my group more throughout the week to make progress for Phase 1 of the project. I’ll also have meetings next week for other group projects, so I’m going to be making sure nothing overlaps and that I leave myself time to work on my own individual tasks.

If you read it, what did you think of the Single Responsibility Principle?

I found the paper really interesting, especially since I’m not used to thinking about separating responsibilities in that way. I definitely tend to think of classes like objects that have several functions, so I don’t think of separating responsibilities naturally. However, it makes sense that depending on how the application is changing, it may be better to separate them based on responsibilities.

What was your experience of IDB1 and reduce?

IDB1 is still a bit confusing for me, but I’m trying to familiarize myself with APIs and the different aspects of Phase 1. Reduce was a relatively straightforward concept and easy enough to implement for the HackerRank exercise!

How did you fare in the storm?

I lost running water for a bit, but other than that, my situation wasn’t too bad. I hope everyone’s safe and warm now — it’s been a rough week and a half.

What made you happy this week?

I called a few friends here and there over the past week to catch up, which has been really refreshing!

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Thanks to my project partner for OOP, I learned about an extension in VSCode called Live Share that lets you collaborate on code in real time!

--

--