CS 373 Spring 2021: Brinda Prasad

Brinda Prasad
CS373 Spring 2021: Brinda Prasad
2 min readMar 15, 2021

What did you do this past week?

My group members and I met up a few times before break began and also this weekend to frontload some of our work for Phase 2 of IDB. We set up more issues on GitLab, sent new user stories to our Developer group, and started figuring out what we needed to get done for Flask and SQL. I also finished up Perusall for Paper #6. As for my other classes, I’ve been finishing up some other group work and doing some planning for a final paper.

What’s in your way?

Even though it’s technically Spring Break, I still feel like I have a lot of work to catch up on this week. I’m pretty burnt out and really want to make sure I block some alone time off to destress.

What will you do next week?

I’ll be meeting with my group throughout the week to work on Phase 2 of our project. Other than that, I’ll just be trying to relax and de-stress a bit.

If you read it, what did you think of the Liskov Substitution Principle?

The paper was a great follow-up to the paper on the Open-Closed principle, and I’m starting to develop a deeper unsee the importance of well-designed code. I didn’t immediately grasp the concept of the Liskov Substitution Principle, but the examples within the article really helped explain what it is and why it is important. It was helpful to see how it related to inheritance and also the Open-Closed principle.

What was your experience of iteration, comprehendions, generators, and digits iterator?

It was cool to learn about how these concepts are implemented in Python specifically. The digits iterator was pretty straightforward. I liked getting to do an exercise to practice writing an iterator class.

What made you happy this week?

I baked some banana bread this week! I also played tennis after almost 3 years and it was a great end to a busy few weeks. It was definitely a hit to my pride to see how rusty I had gotten, but if anything, I’m excited to hopefully play again soon!

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I learned a few keyboard shortcuts for Visual Studio code! Here’s a link to a list of shortcuts: https://code.visualstudio.com/shortcuts/keyboard-shortcuts-macos.pdf?WT.mc_id=code-online-jopapa

--

--