Timmy Tolentino
CSC Canada 1 — Halifax
2 min readSep 27, 2018

--

I have a curse.

Bit of a negative start for my first ever blog entry for the once-in-a-lifetime chance that I am wildly excited for, eh?

Let me explain.

Every single time I go on an extended trip, my team will always have some sort of process-related crisis. Once, it was while I was walking around the Alhambra in Granada, Spain, we were severely undermanned and our volumes doubled in a week.

Another time, I was in the pre-departure area, waiting for my plane to Sydney. I haven't even boarded when I got a call that we had an SLA miss.

So you can understand the slight distress that mixed with the absolute delight and excitement I felt when I found out I got in to IBM’s Corporate Service Corps program. Sure, I wondered about the project I’d get assigned to should I pass, but I honestly didn’t think I would, the program being so selective and all.

I was assigned to the very first team to be sent to Canada and I knew the pressure was on. I met my team mates and learned about their skills and expertise. I felt particularly ill-equipped. I mean how in the world can I keep up with these industry leaders? My manager and friends encouraged me, and I had resolved to use what skills I have to help out, and more importantly, to learn from my colleagues.

For this extended absence from my team, I will be traveling not for leisure, but to share my skills to other organizations that need it. I have been given a chance to affect others’ lives in a big way, and I intend to take it and make the most out of it.

As if to alleviate my anxiety, the universe reminds me than I am leaving a pretty awesome bunch of hardworking, smart and selfless individuals in charge while I’m gone. And that I myself have skills to offer. I think it’s fitting that my team raked in awards right before I boarded my flight. This time, I got good news before leaving.

The curse is broken.

--

--

Timmy Tolentino
CSC Canada 1 — Halifax

HR Delivery Process Owner Virtual Learning Solutions IBM Philippines 🇵🇭