Testimony: Nancy La Lanne’s adventurous and loving exploration of plant-based eating

Adele Jackson
30 Day Plant-Based Adventure Blog
4 min readJan 4, 2019

by Nancy La Lanne

Nancy La Lanne in Seattle.

I was vegan about 5 years ago for Lent. I extended it beyond Lent for a total of 9 months. It was pretty difficult as the food options were super limited. I chose not to continue because I just ate a lot of bread and while I love bread, it was not enough. Also, many of the options were soy and I learned that too much soy was causing me to experience gout, which is incredibly painful. So I was turned off by the vegan experience back then.

Joining the 30 Day Plant-Based Adventure (PBA), though, was really awesome!

First off: the community was amazing. You simply couldn’t beat that. The way that it was first presented to us — with the cool packets, the Mason jar, the raffle, etc. — was super exciting. Right away, the experience became more of a food exploration than a rigorous diet. This was totally different from what I had done before. I quickly learned there were amazing options available now in the food industry and restaurants were creating so many incredible alternative delights!

Nancy enjoys a burger at Next Level Burger

Using seitan and other plant-based alternatives changed my game! The Vegan NYC app is everything!!! That app was the initial spark in my food joy! I quickly found substitutions for meat and delicious cultural options as well. I grew up in a Central American Afro-Latinx home that was heavily influenced by the Caribbean when it came to food, so this was my palate base. Palate expansion is just as important as spiritual expansion when it comes to maintaining remaining in the frequency of joy. I got to experience both in the 30 Day PBA.

I maintained a vegan diet far beyond the 30 days. Ten months to be exact! In October I had macaroni and cheese for my birthday and invited the occasional scrambled egg with cheese into my diet since God created woman and It created cheese and cheese melted is equivalent to.…

Well, I digress … The fact is: I no longer eat meat, and after about two months of living the plant-based lifestyle, I realized I no longer had debilitating arthritic pain in my knees — or anywhere in my body for that matter. I was amazed.

The 30 Day PBA was a launch into a eye-opening food adventure, and I am so glad I decided to go for the ride!

I learned a lot from all the shares in the FB group. For example, I learned how to cook food without oil and saved a lot of great recipes. The group leaders were fabulous, informative, inspiring and some good lookin’ fit people! The PBA party was awesome!!! I still want those soy nuggets. I had no idea Wholefoods made vegan pizza (I learned that at the party). The movie was awesome and the venue was really cute and so close to my house. Haha! My favorite part was also the popcorn machine. It was a really good time.

I just love CSC for all that it offers and provides and allows for new viewpoints on all parts of this human experience.

I mean, I kind of surprised myself last year. I hosted a dinner party in my home and it was ALL plant-based food! That was something I would have never done before. Everyone loved it and took plates home. I was so proud in that moment. I was definitely inspired by the 30 Day PBA to gather friends and share my newfound appreciation for plant-based food.

Nancy shares a vegan meal with her nephew.

Ultimately, I learned a lot about my perception of food and I learned a lot about my food choices … I guess I can call it “food consciousness.” In the end, I have chosen to be a vegetarian because: cheese.

And that’s okay!

I would totally do the PBA again because of one word: Fun. It has changed my perception of how I can enjoy food. Eating is definitely not a rigid experience anymore. I have new favorite restaurants on my roster like Luanne’s Wild Ginger (that pineapple fried rice is all the yum! *chef’s kiss*), By Chloe, Dao Palate, Champs, Bare Burger (they’ve got that delicious Impossible Burger), Peace Foods (tun-tun is yum), Screamer’s Pizza, Next Level Burger (they’ve saved the day a few times), and Clementine Bakery (that Po Boy sandwich though … gets me under the left breast eh-veh-ry time). I mean, that’s just to name a few … LOL

Today, I’m excited to explore cooking more plant-based recipes and I look forward to putting my twist on things when time allows. And when I don’t feel like putting on the chef’s apron, those restaurants will be my go to.

I am so glad to be a part of this community and all the awesomeness it just keeps providing in this ever-unfolding life of mine. Yay to the 30 Day PBA!

In the joy,

Nancy

--

--

Adele Jackson
30 Day Plant-Based Adventure Blog

Health and spirituality writer. Sometimes sports. Movement Coach and Energy Practitioner. Yale and NYU aluma.