Ponder Our Past to Pave Our Future

CSforALL
CSforALL Stories
Published in
5 min readMar 26, 2018

A #WomensHistoryMonth post by Amy Book, a sophomore at Ohio State University studying Computer Science Engineering.

Jane Austen. Credit: Wikimedia Commons.

It is more than a coincidence that my last name is Book. Books have been my nearest and dearest friends for as long as I can remember, offering comfort, inspiration, and wisdom in times of need. As a young child, I longed to become a famous author. As I grew, my reading tastes progressed from Geronimo Stilton to The BFG, Graceling to Harry Potter, before finally discovering Jane Austen. When I first stumbled upon Pride and Prejudice, I was intrigued by the witty dialogue and clever satire that filled the pages. At first, I was appreciative of the humor it afforded, but as I kept reading, I began to realize the purpose behind Austen’s writing. Austen was a pioneer in her field, a proto-feminist. In her time, women’s thoughts were seen as insignificant, and she had to use her brother’s influence to get her novels published. Austen was purposeful in her writing because it was mostly read by the landed gentry; with her biting sarcasm and unsurpassed analysis of human character, she challenged the gender stereotypes of her time.

Although I was convinced the literary world would be my permanent home, destiny intervened. Walking into my robotics class as a freshman, I felt a confusing mix of fear, as I encountered a room full of male peers, and excitement, as I took in eyefuls of fascinating technical equipment, from the computers lining the desks to the Lego Mindstorms piled on shelves. This new take on the traditional classroom was unlike anything else I had previously encountered; the method of learning was refreshingly unconventional as well. Instead of memorizing facts, regurgitating information, and using a passive learning model, robotics taught me to take hold of new ideas, manipulate them as I saw fit, and use the elasticity and finesse of logical thinking to create something new.

My newfound bliss was met with despair, as I was devastated to learn that the vast majority of my female peers did not embrace the same passion for computer science. I realized why the lessons of Elizabeth, Jane, Anne, and Emma — all Jane Austen characters — were branded on my conscience so heavily:

I needed to become an advocate for women in computer science.

FIRST Robotics World competition in St. Louis

With that in mind, I joined and later became president of both STEM Girls club and FIONA (Future Innovators of New Albany), where I helped middle and high school girls develop STEM skills and confidence that will help them succeed in the technology field. Chloe, one of my 7th grade FIONA students, was convinced she didn’t have the capacity to learn the technical language of computer science. However, after teaching her Microsoft Kodu to program a working video game, she gained the confidence needed to approach coding projects on her own. She now has aspirations to pay it forward and eventually lead the group when she is older. Guiding girls through their STEM pursuits gave me the experience required to act as the Mechanical Lead in the inaugural year of my high school’s FIRST Robotics team. As the only female lead, I drew inspiration from Mrs. Croft, a character from Persuasion who lives with her naval captain husband aboard a ship with only men. In her world, where women are dismissed as frivolous, she believes women are sensible and rational; she expects equal treatment from the naval officers. Mrs. Croft also motivated me to continue encouraging female students to fight gender norms and pursue computer science careers.

NAHS STEM Girls Club

I never pictured myself as a computer scientist powering my way through robotics challenges and leading my female peers, such as Chloe, through their personal STEM growth. I now realize, however, I am just as connected to the thrills of reading Jane Austen as always. Although Jane Austen lived before the time of modern programming, the tenacity in which she worked to reprogram social expectations has greatly inspired me. I carry a part of Austen inside me; she guides me through my life and inspires me to help others develop their Austen within.

While Jane Austen has been my inspirational touchstone throughout my growth as a computer science student, it is imperative that modern examples of powerful women coders are available to serve as role models for young girls as well. Trailblazers such as U.S. Navy Admiral Grace Hopper and Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughan, and Mary Jackson, the scientists of Hidden Figures, are crucial in the crusade for equal representation. Studies have shown that female representation in computer science markedly decreased in the 80s with the advent of the personal computer and its subsequent marketing as a facet of male geek culture. How can we increase representation and combat harmful stereotypes? There are a number of objectives for which parents and educators can strive to implement:

Instill values of fearlessness rather than perfectionism in young women

Introduce girls to computing with engineering-based toys and games

Form after-school clubs or activity groups for girls with an interest in technology

Highlight modern successful women in computer science, such as Diane Greene, CEO of Google Cloud and Tracy Chou, software engineer and co-founder of Project Include

During this Women’s History Month, I challenge parents, mentors, business leaders, and educators to invest in the future empowerment of young girls. It is of paramount importance we break down gender barriers and biases at an early age to ensure girls have an equal opportunity to learn, grow, and thrive as computer scientists.

Amy Book is a Honors sophomore student at The Ohio State University studying Computer Science Engineering. She is also pursuing an English minor and will study English literature abroad in London, Bath, and Oxford this spring. Outside of her schoolwork at OSU, Amy mentors high school girls and Girl Scouts interested in computer science through the Society of Women Engineers. She is also active in OSU’s chapter of ACM-W and the English Conversation Program, which helps international students improve English speaking skills. This past summer, Amy interned at Battelle where she developed the Nuclear Risk database for the Nuclear Defense team. Amy can be reached through LinkedIn.

--

--

CSforALL
CSforALL Stories

The national hub for the Computer Science for All movement, making high-quality computer science education an integral part of K-12 education in the US.