Real Estate Photography

Razan
CTRL ALT DES
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2015

Just a girl with a DSLR.

February 2014. I had just left my job as a management consultant. I naively figured I could get a DSLR and maybe make some money on the side while searching for my next job.

I wasn’t a complete newbie to photography. Before the DSLR (a lovely Canon EOS 6D) I had (and still have) a Canon PowerShot G12 prosumer camera.

Not a DSLR

A few months later I found a great job in IT, which I am currently still in, but retained the hard lesson learned in work-life balance. I discovered that I need a creative outlet, and while I can find that to a certain extent within work, I am happiest behind a camera.

So I stumbled around photographing engagements, weddings, portraits, babies, charity runs, my cats and more.

Then I stumbled face-first into real estate and interior design photography. And fell in love. I love photographing spaces (and the people that occupy them). These are the stories I want to tell. Also, it’s really hard to annoy a building.

So that is what I have decided to focus my photography on. I met a lovely interior designer who graciously partnered up with me, allowing me to build my portfolio while providing her with photographs of her work. That experience and portfolio enabled me to sign up with a rental agency as their overflow photographer, and I am happily photographing rental homes all over the Washington DC area.

Photo Credit: The amazing (mashAllah!!) Fatimah Hoque of HaqqMedia.com

Look out commercial photography! You are my next target!

--

--