Ashley Hopko
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling
2 min readFeb 24, 2018

--

After reflection on my own proposal from my peers, I plan on sticking with my original pitch with a few slight strategy adjustments.

In my original pitch, I wanted to highlight the work being done by entrepreneurial students at CU. For my Internship with Colorado.FM, I did a written feature story on Alec Parezo, who was one of the students responsible for designing the Co-working Hub at the Village Center.

Upon first glance, I thought snapchat would be a good idea. But I’ve revised this idea to create something more permanent. Instead, it would be a better idea to focus on Instagram. Instagram has an amazing feature that allows you not only to post temporary stories, but also save your favorite/ top performing 4 stories on your homepage that people can check out at anytime. Just because something doesn’t necessarily fit my target aesthetic, but contains an important piece to my story, it can still be displayed for viewers. Instagram is also preferable to snapchat, because it allows you to create professional profiles and link business accounts. Snapchat is more for parties and less official events. Since the New Venture Challenge and startup world is business based, Instagram would be better tailored to our audience.

When it comes to content, I received a lot of feedback in class that allowed me to get a clearer picture of what I wanted to achieve. It would be neat to collect all of the photos surrounding the coworking space and innovation initiative. We have already tried this with out hashtag #CUNVC10, that stands for the 10th year of the CU Boulder New Venture Challenge. This hasn’t been catching on through because it’s not easy enough to remember. I propose #startupCU or #InnovateBoulder instead.

For my live stream, I think it would be cool to do a Facebook live event and break off into journalistic type interviews with attendees.

The feedback about not being pressured by advisors and supervisors was helpful. It’s too easy to become accustomed to blindly following directions without thinking about how effective something really is.

--

--

Ashley Hopko
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

I’m a Colorado native passionate about feature and travel writing. In my free time, I work as a freelance writer for local startups in Denver and Boulder.