Final Story Update: Tiny Homes

With the help of the CU Tech Center and Professor Ryan, I was able to “screen-grab” my Live video and saved it. The screen-grab would cut out sometimes and leave me half-way through the video, having to wait up to 8 minutes to get to my desired Live section, since it won’t let you skip to any section you want of the Live. This proved to be difficult and tedious, but I was just happy to get my story off of Instagram and onto a solid memory card.

After my presentation, I got some great feedback and the class seemed to like my story which was a huge relief. There were still some problems with the live and the Snapchat because they saved in sections instead of an entire video. I fixed this pretty quickly using iMovie and edited the videos together. The only thing that didn’t work was the audio on my last screengrab which cut out randomly half-way through the last Byron interview. Other than that, it worked great.

I also did my experimental platform by using Reddit to join online Tiny Home communites. I posted comments to a couple boards and even made a post but didn’t get much “reddit love” seeing as my post never got any hits but one of my comments got an “up-vote” which is cool.

My Reddit page

This project allowed me to use my journalism skills in another manner that challenged me but was also very fun and eye-opening. I wasn’t aware just how massive this community is and how many enjoy their time in tiny homes.

--

--

Alexander Teufel
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

I am currently a senior at the University of Colorado Boulder with a passion for writing and snowboarding.