My Pitch

Jay Hanlon
1 min readFeb 26, 2018

--

Should the University of Colorado Boulder field a varsity baseball team?

In 1980, the Boulder’s Division I baseball team was disbanded due to Title IX. I would like to focus on the CU club baseball team for my social media story. I can curate an op-ed style piece on the current roster, their season so far, and future games — and whether its been a success keeping the club at its current level, or whether CU should entertain the idea of adding a varsity team for baseball. CU is the only school in the Pac-12 conference that does not currently have a varsity baseball team and, based on the success of our other varsity sports, it feels likes the Buffs should have a baseball team.

For my experimental portion of the project, I’d like to use Twitter since I am unfamiliar with the platform. I think the use of polls on Twitter could be fruitful in generating public opinion about a baseball team at CU.

My primary goal of the project will be to assess my thoughts about the status of America’s pastime at CU, and also generate and spread ideas, opinions, and dialogue concerning baseball in Boulder.

--

--

Jay Hanlon

CU Boulder Class of 2018. Aspiring writer. NBA junkie. Illegal Pete’s > Chipotle. Twitter: @wjayhanlon