Social Media Pitch

Shea Sahm
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling
2 min readMar 2, 2018

For my social media story, I plan to discuss the difference in pay between the men and women who play for the United States National soccer team. The men out earn the women astronomically but the women have won world cups and are consistently ranked in the top three in the world. So, why is this fare?

I plan to dedicate a radio show with a Facebook live stream for my live platform and a podcast as my non-live platform. As the sports director for Radio 1190 I will use time on the radio show to discuss the unfair pay gap. The podcast will be dedicated to the gender gap in pay as well. This topic is important to me because soccer is a passion of mine, I want to see equality and I especially want to see our women’s team treated and paid like the top soccer team they are.

The most important part of this story is the opinions and voice of women. I can easily get those opinions on the radio or my podcast. The female perspective is important because they are the ones that are being mistreated. The male perspective will give my story supporting content as well as their side of things. As of now, my experimental element would be filming live on campus random people. I believe this way we could get peoples perspective immediately rather than a planned out answer.

Soccer is a big part of my life and that is why this subject is so important to me. Soccer is the worlds game, that means everybody should be able to play under fair rules. It shouldn’t matter if you’re a women or man, soccer is for all.

--

--

Shea Sahm
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

CU-Boulder student, Director of News and Sports @Radio 1190, sports lover, and Los Angeles native.