Social Media Story Initial Blog

The following lays out my plan for my social media story. I would like my social media story to be a play off of a sports feature I created for my senior capstone, NewTeam. Essentially, society often looks at student athletes as the “celebrities” of campus as they excel on and off the field. However, many people do not realize that student athletes are overwhelmed and overworked and often feel an overwhelming sense of pressure from coaches and competition. Because not many people have had the opportunity to follow around student athletes for a day and see what their lives are truly like, I would like to use several social media platforms to show a typical day in the life of a division one collegiate athlete. My story plan for social media is outlined below.

I am going to produce the social story on Snapchat which will run about 1:45 in length. This will consist of “a day in the life” type of story where I follow a student athletes around from the time they eat breakfast, to workouts, to walking to class, and everything in between that forces their days to be hectic, stressful and often very overwhelming. I think this will generate great content.

In addition to the snapchat story, which will be filled with emoji’s, location indicators, and timestamps, I will be posting two blogs to Medium. One post will give more background information about the athlete I will be following (name, hometown, sport, year, what they may doing that day, and some background research on student athletes busy schedules which I have found from Pac-12 athletic research. The next blog will be posted shortly after I follow the athlete around. I will include my findings and any other relevant information that the audience may find important and intriguing. This post will also will tie it all together and I will pose the real question: Are student athletes really being overworked? And I will go into my findings.

At one point throughout my snapchat story, I will stop to record a Facebook live element in the students weight room, or on the court. Here I will include information about the athlete and perhaps even have them say something on camera about how their busy day is going.

Throughout the day that this story will be active, I will be on Twitter generating content for my audience so they have the ability to be quickly updated to see what I have found/ what I where I am with the athlete. This will consist of 12–15 tweets throughout the duration of the social story.

For my experimental platform I would like to use Instagram to post photos and implement the Instagram story which has a couple different features than Snapchat. Excited for this!

--

--

Audrëy Rodríguez
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

Host of "Off The Court" Sports writer for http://cubuffs.com. CU social media relations🏈 On-air PA announcer for Colorado women's volleballBroncos PR.