Social Media Story Plan — Tiny Homes

The rise of tiny homes around the nation, and world, have become something of an escape for many families and individuals alike.

For this piece I would like to focus on some of the following social media elements and platforms. These platforms will include Reddit, Instagram, Snapchat, Facebook(still deciding) and Twitter.

Reddit and Twitter

Reddit, I have decided, will be my experimental media form. As previously stated my my first draft of this story plan, I have not had much experience with the site. I also got notes from students in class that there are almost endless groups and threads that involve incredible amounts of information. Including Tiny Home Reddit threads that I have looked at in the last week (still deciding on a good one). I plan on creating my own thread on Reddit about Tiny Homes and plan on trying to get it out to other users of Reddit and gather a following from friends, family and random people interested in Tiny Homes. I will also create an account on Reddit to make the thread as well as post my thread to other Tiny Home threads to see if I can generate traffic to my thread.

For the aspect of Twitter I would like to use various forms of hashtags, tags and so forth to get more followers to my account. I will be posting numerous Twitter posts throughout the week or weeks while I conduct interviews, visit tiny homes and updates on my Reddit thread, Snapchat, Instagram and so forth. In this way, I will be able to not only gather more attention to my Tweets but also my other forms of media surrounding my Tiny Home project.

Instagram and Snapchat

Between these two, I am still deciding on a live aspect from either one. From my brief meeting with Terron I had the chance to talk to him about this and he believes (from my notes and memory) that I can do an Instagram Live as well as a Snapchat story throughout a tiny home that an actual family may live in. If I cannot get this, which I am sure I can with some research, then I will use Snapchat to create a story in multiple 10 second stories to meet the 120second prime story time length.

In terms of Instagram I would like to use this for my live aspect on either an interview with a real person or family who lives in a tiny home or the owner of a Tiny Home Outlet or Factory of some sort (like the few mentioned in my previous drafts). I believe either of these would be a great insight into both the life and business associated with Tiny Home living. I would also like to create a seperate Instagram profile so I can post pictures of tiny homes I come across during reporting and visits to outlets and family owned trailers and so forth. I also want to use this profile for my Live since it will all associate to the posts I will have on the page.

  • I am still deciding how I would like to use Facebook but am working on ideas. Either posts to my other media platforms for Tiny Homes or updates on my prgoress. It could also be used to find other pages where people live in or buy tiny homes. These pages could help me find other sources and places to find interviews, pictures and Twitter updates etc..

Other information:

I have done research on numerous places to buy and create tiny homes like the TumbleWeed Tiny Home Factory as well as a few others. I am also hoping to get in contact with my previous interviewee who is the owner of Colorado Teardrop Company right here in Boulder. He has some incredible stories and I would love to either use information from a previous interview or talk to him more about the business this year and how it will pick up in the spring and summer of 2018. Another thing I could do, still deciding, is find groups on either Twitter or Snapchat that cater to tiny home fanatics. This could help greatly. One last idea, I was thinking of adding some type of photo essay to this media story. I have a camera as well as my iPhone which takes great pictures. It would be fun to have 10–15 different pictures to add to either a portfolio or my Instagram.

--

--

Alexander Teufel
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

I am currently a senior at the University of Colorado Boulder with a passion for writing and snowboarding.