Social Media Story Update #1

Grace Harper
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling
2 min readApr 19, 2018

This past week, I’ve been feeling a little stuck with my social media story. I’ve reached out to a number of people that I’m interested in talking to, but I haven’t been able to set up anything. Since things haven’t exactly been going as planned, I’ve decided that I need to make a few changes and get creative with some alternative options if things don’t work out as I’ve planned.

As a refresher, I’m doing my project on the effects of gun violence/mass shootings on gun laws and people in Colorado. As I’ve been doing research, I’ve realized that a ton of the information that is essential to my story is facts and figures. Because of this I’ve decided to modify my produced story (suggested by Professor Ryan) to be a Buzzfeed-style informational video that I will post on Facebook. The video will help me incorporate all the necessary statistics to my story and add a visual element as well.

As for my Live element, I’ve decided to attend a walkout at either Niwot High or Broomfield High this Friday. The walkout is part of a national movement called National School Walkout that happens every year on the anniversary of the Columbine Shooting.

I’m still hoping to make a podcast for my experimental element, but since it’s been hard getting people to talk, I’ve come up with a back up plan. I’m considering making Humans of New York-style Instagrams of students at the walkout, if they’ll let me. Otherwise, I’m still hoping I can get enough audio from interviews to make a podcast.

I will continue with updates on here and on Twitter throughout the process!

--

--

Grace Harper
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

Violinist at CU Boulder. Journalist on the side. Forever trying to harmonize the two.