Social Media Story Update #2

Grace Harper
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling
2 min readApr 25, 2018

Last Friday, I attended a school walkout at Niwot High School. The walkout was one of many happening around the country on the anniversary of the Columbine shooting. The walkouts are organized by an organization called National School Walkout.

I decided to shoot my live video at the walkout and I was originally hoping to talk to some students, but some things didn’t work out as I expected. The walkout took place at the front of the school. When I got there, there was a group of school administrators and some police officers. I was the only one there not affiliated with the school, and I felt a little out of place, so I decided to introduce myself as a student journalist and asked if I could take a video of the walkout. They allowed me to, but made me stand about 300 feet away, citing student privacy.

I still took my live video, but I was disappointed because I wasn’t able to pick up any audio from the walkout and the footage was pretty bad. The result was a video of me awkwardly trying to fill 8 minutes of live video by mostly talking and some unclear footage.

If I had known about the school’s student privacy policy, I would have called the school beforehand and tried to set interviews up with students, or I would have gone to a walkout at a different school.

Since the project deadline is so close, I decided to keep the live video and stick to my main plan.

--

--

Grace Harper
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

Violinist at CU Boulder. Journalist on the side. Forever trying to harmonize the two.