Social Media Story Update #3

Grace Harper
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling
2 min readApr 26, 2018

After waiting weeks to hear back from the numerous people I reached out to, I finally got a response yesterday from a CU law professor who as agreed to answer some questions. Although this will happen post project deadline, I’ve decided to meet with him on Friday because I think an expert’s opinion on my story subject can only help at this point.

As far as my other story elements go, my main challenge now is my produced story, which will be a Facebook-style video. I’ve curated most of the footage and the information I want in the video, I just have to put it all together. Also, since I’ve gotten an interview set up, I’m hoping to use some of that footage as well. I plan to make the video using Premiere Pro, which I’m only somewhat familiar with as of last semester, so hopefully all goes well.

I’ve also decided to change my experimental platform. I was originally planning on making a podcast, but since I was getting any responses, I’ve decided to make a quiz on Buzzfeed instead. Since a lot of my project content is factual/statistical, a trivia quiz can help me communicate facts while also increasing engagement.

Otherwise, it seems like I’m on the home stretch for this project. I’ve really enjoyed learning more about my subject and I’m looking forward to the final result. Stay tuned for my last Medium blog which I plan on posting after my presentation next week!

--

--

Grace Harper
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

Violinist at CU Boulder. Journalist on the side. Forever trying to harmonize the two.