Story update #1

As I was making the planned documentary, I realized that the idea of getting meaningful footage that hadn’t been used before of the conflict and fighting in Iraq and Syria was too ambitious. I had also already had my interviews with Saman and Said, where there also were no opportunity to get any new footage due to the lack of equipment.

Instead, I attempted instead to recycle other documentaries’ footage with my own voice-over as my produced story. Despite the fact that my work falls under the fair use in the copyright law, the story ended up really carrying the impression of being recycled footage, with various watermarks and the like, causing me to re-evaluate how I can possibly meaningfully produce a media story on the issues, and came to the conclusion to use the Image collage.

Images taken from Saman and Said’s farm in Shekhan

Because I had so many strong images to work with, I decided to go the direction of an Image collage instead of a documentary. The images coupled with the quotes and stories of Saman and Said produced a meaningful and emotionally engaging piece.

Using the images of the daily life of sheltering and feeding refugees alongside the photos of weapons contributes to the readers getting the full impression of how close to the fighting their farm was.

--

--

Ole Fredrik Dahl
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

Dislocated Norwegian. Studying Journalism and History at the University of Colorado, Boulder.