Story update #2 — Experimental issues

When I decided to use reddit as my experimental platform, I had already had a reddit account for about 4 years, which I actively use, including to post about and comment on controversial topics like the Syrian Civil War.

It was then it came as a surprise when I posted my well thought out image-collage to r/CyrianCivilWar, the post got auto-moderated and deleted.

Since I already had an established reddit account, I had never experienced the functions that various subreddits use to prevent bots and trolls, which caught me by surprise when trying to post.

As this post was in relation to my education and professional life, I did not want to tie it to my private reddit account, which has been used for recreational purposes for half a decade.

Since the initial auto-moderation only set a weeks subscription as the requirement to post, I came back a week later only to find out another auto-moderation would keep my new account from posting for another month due to the controversial topic, so I decided to expand.

I attempted to post in r/Iraq, r/Syria and r/ISIS which were all the less but still related subreddits, but strict moderation still kept my post from being engaged. I even tried to post to r/pics where some educational posts occasionally finds their way to, but my post was deleted due to the graphic content, showing that the reality of Saman and Said’s everyday in Iraq is too much for some to handle.

The story did however reach an audience through Imgur, where the initial post got two comments and even a favorite. As the tweets relating to the story are posted, I hope to see more traffic.

--

--

Ole Fredrik Dahl
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

Dislocated Norwegian. Studying Journalism and History at the University of Colorado, Boulder.