Story Update #2: Interview Day 1: Tiny Home Connection

Things have gone from 0 to 100 in just a week. Over the course of the weekend, and today (Monday), I have completed my Live and Produced aspects to my story. I was happy to get some last minute emails from Byron Fears of SimBLISSity Tiny Homes in Lyons and Ryan McCue the president of Tiny Home Connection. They were both more than happy to be interviewed and get the chance to have their name out there on social media.

Tiny Home Connection

On Sunday at 2:00p.m I was completely lost in the middle of Lakewood, Colorado. I had obtained the wrong address for the Tiny Home Connection by means of Apple Maps (go figure) and I was down to the wire of being late to my interview appointment. Luckily, Ryan answered his cell phone and I was able to get the correct address and was driving into the parking lot of a flower shop to get to the back where Tiny Home Connection (THC) sits in a small but stylish plot of land. The warehouse was beautiful and two large tiny homes sat in the parking lot which consisted of a muddy field. Ryan explained to me that the company was coming up on its one year anniversary this August, but they had still accomplished a lot in such a short period of time.

After meet and greets with the crew, I was able to get inside a tiny home which was actually being worked on while I was inside. A family had rented out the space to finish their tiny home and get advice from the crew at THC. I got inside with Ryan and filmed my produced Snapchat story inside while also a couple inside and outside the facility. I got to meet the Tiny Home Connection dog, Hero, a beautiful and friendly husky while also the Vice President, Scott Updegraff. The entire crew was very friendly and open to me while I was in their work space. Even on a Sunday, the entire place was lively with building action and grilling.

Picture from tinyhomeconnection.com

Ryan then was kind enough to invite me to their second Saturday BBQ every second Saturday of the month at THC. Anyone is welcome and they offer advice and information on any aspect of the tiny home community, building your own and advice on specifications for current builds. Definitely check it out!

After all was said and done, I believe my produced story was successful. The only hiccup I had was on Snapchat’s end. Only one or two videos in my story allowed me to film past the 10 second window and onto a second 10sec/ story period. It caused a cut off during a small interview with Ryan but not by much. Finding the place was very hard but was more than worth it when I got there and saw the incredible spot hidden behind miscellaneous Lakewood shops. I will most certainly be visiting this place again!

Check out up-coming events and photos here at http://www.tinyhomeconnection.com

--

--

Alexander Teufel
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

I am currently a senior at the University of Colorado Boulder with a passion for writing and snowboarding.