Story Update — Kratom

Just to reiterate, my story is about the “War on Kratom” and it’s evolution in Colorado. I am using a story previously written for News Corps in February. I am interested in the way it can be helpful for those with opiate addictions, while maintaining thoughtful research on potentially detrimental effects. My piece has not changed much from the initial pitch because I had already completed the story for News Corps. However, I have developed the way that I am going to use social media to tell my story.

I unfortunately was extremely sick last week, so I did not have the pleasure of talking to Terron and getting feedback. I would like any help from an outside perspective, so comments are appreciated! I especially need help finalizing ideas for the live element.

I have done fairly extensive research on Kratom. I have explored its origins, the rise in popularity in Colorado, the FDA’s and DEA’s concerns, and it’s effect economically. I also interviewed two past heroin addicts, who used Kratom to get off of it. I also am in contact with the head of the Students for Sensible Drug Policy at CU, James Gould. Additionally, I interviewed the owner of Kratom by Mile High Botanicals, a Kratom vendor and recovered heroin addict.

I would like to highlight the way it is being used as a positive alternative to heroin and Fentanyl and keeping people off the streets. While I am still going to provide the opposing side that cautions that use of Kratom poses danger, I am going to explore other possible reasons for the pushback against Kratom, such as it’s effect on the sale of opioids.

For my twitter feed, I am going to promote by blog posts and give updates on the current state of Kratom in Colorado. I also want my twitter story to be in the form of a timeline in a way. I want to tell the background of Kratom and it’s battle in Colorado through blurbs that will keep an audience engaged. My blog posts will also include background about Kratom and it’s battle with the FDA and DEA. I will include testimonies from users in these blog posts. I am going to use Instagram as well for a visual element of my story. My posts will start out as background and move into the controversy and then finish with the current status of the “War on Kratom.” Some examples of photos are Kratom itself, a Kratom vendor, quotes from DEA agents, someone using Kratom, etc.

For my live element, I am going to utilize the live feature on Facebook. I am going to interview my professor(s) from News Corps about the way the class is designed to give students an opportunity to get work published and out to the public. Another thing I was thinking of was creating a space for viewers to ask questions and I would answer them to the best of my ability on a live stream. I still don’t feel totally confident in this live element but I am working on it.

It seems that every week, news about Kratom is published. Most of it has been related to Salmonella outbreaks in Kratom products. I think it is important to talk about the way that it is possible to pose future contamination problems because of it’s lack of regulation by the FDA.

I think because Kratom has made a name for itself in Colorado due to it’s association with ‘getting high’, it is likely to reach a fairly large audience. Most people I have talked to about that topic have never heard of it before. So while I will be following the news, I think it is an interesting substance for people to be aware and knowledgeable of in general.

--

--

Alexandra Tomassian
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

Last year undergraduate at CU Boulder. Degrees & passion in Dance, Art, and Journalism.