This week’s update

Hi everyone,

So this week, I really wrapped everything up. I was able to re-do my Instagram story without typos and I saved it correctly this time (whoops, second time’s a charm). I found it pretty difficult to put a story into social media length. Only being able to scratch the surface is harder than I imagined. I think maybe next time I would like to hone in on something specific about the topic rather than tackling a whole bunch of things at once. Besides that, I think everything went pretty well.

Today I did my live element with Eric Pieper and it went very well. We met and he told me about his previous opiate addiction and his views on Kratom. He gave me a lot of great insight and I think having the live element with him makes it more relatable and emotional. He spoke a similar story as some other sources I got to know while writing and doing this story.

Eric Pieper Interview

I made a Google Map and I think it is pretty helpful to get an idea of how wide-spread Kratom use is. I think maybe I would like to add more detail to it int he future. You can see that here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1gSZNFGvkb8df_BZ0urlvXZSTWhna2eEj&usp=sharing

Overall, it was good for me to get outside of my comfort zone. I enjoyed trying to make my story fit on multiple platforms. After tomorrow, I am going to reflect on my work more so I’ll save it for then. Stay tuned for next week’s final update!

--

--

Alexandra Tomassian
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

Last year undergraduate at CU Boulder. Degrees & passion in Dance, Art, and Journalism.