Weekly Kratom Story Update

Hey friends,

I am writing to update the status of my social story. I was feeling really lost with the whole thing, but after meeting with Kathleen, I feel much more clear about my vision. I am currently curating images that will go along with my produced story as an Instagram story. I may include some statistics and infographics in that. It will most likely be around ten slides long.

I was having a really hard time deciding what to do for my experimental platform, but I think I am going to use some sort of mapping, most likely using Google Maps. I think it would be interesting to do a map of where the Kratom-related Salmonella outbreaks are in the US. I think this sort of visual map would be helpful for readers to understand how widespread the use of Kratom is. It would be set up in a similar way to the image below, which is explaining how to set up a store locater… of course mine would be on where people are sick rather than where a store is.. unfortunately.

Photo: Google Maps

I am still not 100% sure about my live element, though I know I will be using Facebook Live. I most likely will go into one of the vendors in Boulder and talk to the owner about their opinion on Kratom and how they feel about people getting sick from it. I may also try to reconnect again with one of the previous addicts I worked with before and see how their Kratom use has helped(?) them since I last talked to them earlier this semester.

I will be using Twitter mostly to redirect people to my various published pieces on Medium, Instagram and Facebook. I will also use it to keep my viewers aware of when I will be going live on Facebook and Instagram. Stay tuned for the link to my map coming out next week!

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Alexandra Tomassian
CU Boulder CMCI Social Media Storytelling

Last year undergraduate at CU Boulder. Degrees & passion in Dance, Art, and Journalism.