Reading Goals for 2022

María Fernanda Torres
Cuaderno Reciclado
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2022
Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

Here is another list I only mentioned on my YouTube channel. Like every year, I made a list of resolutions to use as a guide when choosing what to read, as well as some specific choices:

1. Read 30 books. My goal for the last few years — which has never been achieved. I still think it’s doable though (so far, I’m on track).

2. Read more Mexican literature. A repeat goal from last year because I really enjoyed reading more Mexican authors in 2021. These are the 5 books I’d like to read:

Balún Canán by Rosario Castellanos (1957)

Where The Air Is Clear by Carlos Fuentes (1958)

Cuentos reunidos by Amparo Dávila

Estío y otros cuentos by Inés Arredondo

Hurricane Season by Fernanda Melchor (2017)

3. Read Latin American literature. Just like with Mexican literature in particular, I feel very behind with Latin American literature in general. Therefore, this year I’ve decided to catch up with some of the most celebrated authors (and books):

Hopscotch by Julio Cortázar (1963)

Open Veins of Latin America by Eduardo Galeano (1971)

Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel García Márquez (1981)

The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende (1982)

The Bad Girl by Mario Vargas Llosa (2006)

4. Read classics. Because there’s always more classics left to read:

The Iliad and The Odyssey by Homer (8th century BC)

Candide by Voltaire (1759)

The Sorrows of Young Werther by Goethe (1774)

The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka (1915)

Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse (1922)

5. Read books soon to be adapted to films or TV. Because I generally prefer to read the book before watching the movie (of course, it wouldn’t be the case with the first one):

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie (1911)

All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque (1929)

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah (2015)

6. Read at least one book in French. Because I’ve been studying this language for more than half my life, and I’ve only read a couple books in it. I’m choosing a contemporary novel:

In The Café of Lost Youth by Patrick Modiano

The End of Eddy by Édouard Louis

7. Read more non-fiction. I didn’t mention this one on the original video, but I’d like to make it a priority. I’ve read one so far this year!

Regarding my blog and my YouTube channel I have 3 goals. Although, to be honest, I haven’t been keeping up with them that well. Still, it’s good to remember them:

1. Publish 2 reviews per month on my blog

2. Publish 2 videos per month on my YouTube channel

3. Share interesting articles on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

I’ll start sharing new reviews soon!

How are you doing with your resolutions?

This post was originally published in Spanish at Cuaderno Reciclado.

--

--