Mo Weekly #17

50% IS ONLY HALF THE EFFORT YOU SHOULD BE PUTTING IN

Moyosore Quadri
Cuble
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2019

--

I side with people that frown against half measures. To make a proper push for something, it pays to have all your eggs in one basket, to go all in, to empty the round in your target! Who are you saving the bullets for?

The greats have built their legitimate and criminal empires by going all in:

“Hey Mart, what would you like to be known for”

“hmmm…. a renowned contract killer”

“well that developed fast….oh well…..renowned for what exactly?”

“as the guy who always gets it done, you know… Mr Reliable”

“okay, first of all, I don’t know… okay? let’s keep it that way, second, I’d like to help”

“oh thanks”

“I have a suggestion, set up a website, calling all ex-lovers and disgruntled individuals stating that you offer services that could make their little problem ‘disappear’”

“I like the sound of that actually”

Two weeks later

*phone rings

“Jell-O! who is it?”

“Hey it’s Mart”

“oh buddy, Hey! how’s killing?”

“I need your help, I got arrested”

“wow! business is booming I see”

“not quite, I actually haven’t killed anyone, although there are a lot of disgruntled folks out there, I need you to get across to my lawyer, I can’t reach him”

“why?”

“to get me out of here! why else?”

“I wasn’t referring to that, why haven’t you taken any of the offers?”

“well I have to work, I have bills to pay and the site is quite expensive to run”

“that’s your problem right there, your attention was divided”

“I don’t need this right now, just call my lawyer”

“I’ll do you one better….I won’t, so you can fully focus on your life of crime”

“that makes no sense!”

“not with that attitude”

“Oh Christ!”

There is an old saying, “Don’t put all of your eggs in one basket.” It means don’t be too reliant or dependent on a single thing. If that thing fails or is stolen, everything you have is gone.

This writer says “go all in” you never know if you have given it your best shot if you don’t give your all. As a part of you would constantly wonder what could’ve been if you had.

Would you listen to an old adage? or would you listen to this writer?

--

--

Moyosore Quadri
Cuble

Fiction | Poetry | Satire | Tomfoolery | Creative Non-Fiction; Master of none.