SUSAN SERIES | MO WEEKLY #19

The truth about the Apple that fell from the Tree: PART I

Moyosore Quadri
Cuble
Published in
2 min readFeb 15, 2019

--

A dialogue with Susan from last August:

Susan: …. the apples do not fall too far from the tree indeed

Mo: well, it does if something affects its trajectory or if it’s a tilting apple tree on a hill, then it will fall and just roll right down

Susan: hmm, I get that but isn’t it when it touches the ground that it has fallen? Not taking into account the roll

Mo: also, what if it’s on a very steep hill and falls straight down the hill?

Susan: to be honest if we’re to take the saying “the apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree” in one context, in my opinion, it simply means that wherever there’s an apple, the tree from whence it came isn’t too far away

Mo: I get you, but hear me out for a moment, what if I buy an apple and it falls out of my grocery bag…..with no tree in sight!

Susan: you’re an idiot with no idiot tree in sight!

Mo: I hear you but I refuse to engage you, growth-1, Susan-0

Susan: but…..I get it….. I met your parents remember? ……you are definitely their apple…

Mo: you’re on a row

Susan: …in another context, for instance, your idiocy, one could say that no matter the distance an apple travels in its journey to germinate into its own tree, there are always traits that point to its origin….

Mo: hence, an apple can never stray far from the tree?

Susan: not even if it’s a tree on the steepest hill on an island and the apple falls right into the sea and drops to the bottom

Mo: ……

Susan: let that sink in apple…. you can sink but you won’t drown

Mo: figure of speech?

Susan: I don’t know, it’s starting to wear off…

Mo: I see… good talk

Susan: yeah, good talk…. get over here, feed me your apple.

PART I OF III

--

--

Moyosore Quadri
Cuble

Fiction | Poetry | Satire | Tomfoolery | Creative Non-Fiction; Master of none.