Ramya Menon
Cucumbertown Magazine Archive
3 min readDec 1, 2015

--

A little while back, we told you about our brand new affiliate feature. And, my, did people love it!

And now we have some updates from the team on what’s been going on with the affiliate feature.

First things first, it’s now fully functional on some blogs! When we had written about this the last time, it was still in development stage, so we were not able to show you what the end result would look like. Being in the house food blogger means I’m also the official guinea pig. So, I have it on my blog, War and Cheese, and this is what it looks like!

So just to go back to how this is done. We had talked about this in the earlier post, but just to refresh your memory a little bit, here goes the first few steps!

Now for the steps after this.

This is basically how you add the affiliates to your blog post. Simple, huh?

You can also add an affiliate to an existing post by editing the post and following the same steps.

But that’s not the only update.

Apart from developing the affiliate feature into something the authors can use, the team has also made the first inroads into the geo targeting that we had talked about earlier. Cucumbertown bloggers can now geo target their recommendation for specific products in India and USA.

Look at what happened when I added this oven to my affiliate product list:

As you know this is hugely impactful in terms of being able to target multiple locations where your audience is spread.

To get this enabled on your blog, contact us on chef@cucumbertown.com.

I am totally in love with this feature. And it is not just because of how this is going to help me monetize War and Cheese. I love it more because I can now tell my readers so easily about the products I love. Everything I buy for my blog is a treasure, and now I can share that with my readers oh so easily. Of c0urse making money while doing that is great!

Stay tuned for more updates from the team. A little bird tells me soon there will be some interesting keyword mapping that will be added to this feature to make it even more effective. There is also more affiliate networks to look forward to and a lot more. So watch this space. We will be back!

--

--

Ramya Menon
Cucumbertown Magazine Archive

Journalist, writer and dreamer. Now combining all three with a dream team @Cucumbertown