James Brown, the undisputed “Godfather of Soul.” PHOTOGRAPH BY GILLES PERESS/MAGNUM. (image source: The New Yorker)

Say It Loud: The Black Power Revolution in Music

Beyoncé’s ‘Formation’ echoes a deep legacy of radical musical expression

Steve Kemple
Cuepoint
Published in
21 min readFeb 26, 2016

--

By Steve Kemple

Before I begin, let‘s get a few things out of the way. I’m a white guy, which obviously will have a bearing on how I approach this topic. The last thing I want to do is impose my own views on the black experience. Since I’ve never been black before, I can’t tell you what it’s like. But I’m interested in black history (as should everyone), particularly as viewed through the prism of music. I’m going to try my best to get out of the way to let you enjoy the music and draw your own conclusions.

Part of my job as a music librarian is to present monthly music discussions for adults. In honor of Black History Month, I decided to present about music that advocates or embodies various ideologies associated with black liberation. This is a powerful narrative that continues to exert an indelible impact on our music and culture, and one that continues to be socially and politically relevant today.

Then, just a few days before the program, Beyoncé surprised the world by dropping her beautifully…

--

--