I Suck at Meeting Famous Girls

Is there something you are chasing in life just because other people told you that you should?

Mike Posner
Cuepoint
Published in
3 min readSep 1, 2016

--

WHERE I AM: Calgary, CA
WHAT I’M LISTENING TO: Seinabo Sey — Pretend

Earlier in the year, I played my song ‘I Took a Pill in Ibiza at the iHeartRadio Media Summit. The iHeartRadio Media Summit is an annual event that takes place in Los Angeles, where record labels present their upcoming projects to radio stations. My amazing record label, Island, allowed me to play for all the people who would decide if my song goes on their radio stations (or not). Pretty cool right!?

Before I played, my managers directed me to a dressing room where I could prepare for my set. I opened the door to the dressing room and walked into a wall of sweet perfume, indicative of a female under the age of 25 was in close proximity. Immediately I felt I was in the wrong dressing room. There were some articles of clothing strewn about and other personal items so I felt uncomfortable. My team assured me that all the artists were sharing dressing rooms due to lack of space at the event. Thus, I agreed to stay, despite my uneasiness.

A few minutes later, a very famous, wide-eyed pop-star — the epicenter of the perfume cloud — walked into the “shared” dressing room. We both felt like we’d invaded the other person’s space. It was weird.

She said very nicely, “I feel like I’ve met you before.”

Trying to sound masculine, I said, “You have. We met at the studio with Benny (a producer friend of mine).” ← I ended up sounding kind of standoffish.

An awkward conversation ensued where I felt like I was not being myself.

This happens every time I meet a famous girl. I try to act cool, but I end up being cold. Some backwards logic tells me that since everyone else is nice to these girls, I should act stern and they will think I’m special. This begs the question:

Why do I care if famous girls think I’m special?

Here’s the honest answer. Some stupid part of my brain thinks, everyone else wants to date these girls so I should too. It’s the same ethos that leads me to sometimes think, everyone else wants this sports car so I should too. At times, I do the same thing with money, notoriety, and clothes. I want them just because everyone else does.

Then I proceed to waste my precious time on this Earth chasing these things that I’ve let other people decide are important. In the case of money and clothes, I’ve done a pretty good job at amassing these trophies in my life, only to find disillusionment and emptiness. They really haven’t made me any happier or sadder. In the case of famous girls, I’m so caught up trying to impress them that I impress nobody and feel super weird after.

So I ask you, yes YOU:

Is there something you are chasing in life just because other people told you that you should chase it?

If so, STOP!

I know what you’re thinking because I’m thinking it too. It’s scary to stop.

To stop chasing is to admit we were wrong.

To stop chasing means abandoning the goals that everyone else has come to know us by.

To stop chasing is to be weird.
To stop chasing sometimes means being alone.

But to stop chasing also means fulfillment.

To stop chasing also means knowing you are living a meaningful life. Maybe most importantly, to stop chasing means knowing you are living your life, not someone else’s.

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite quotes of all time,

“My commitment is to truth, not to consistency.” — Mahatma Ghandi

Have the courage to grow.
Have the courage to evolve.
Have the courage to be inconsistent.

I’ll try if you do.

Love,

Mike “Sucks at Meeting Famous Girls” Posner :)

You can call/text me at +1 313–307–4075 or email me at mike@mikeposner.com

If you enjoyed reading this, please click the below. This will help to share the story with others.

Follow Cuepoint: Twitter |Facebook

--

--

Mike Posner
Cuepoint

i make music. Join the email list here for everything you ever dreamed of :): http://eepurl.com/bk08Y1