Gg’s World

Memes, gifs, TikToks, and such

Megan Goodwin
Cults & Sects
Published in
1 min readSep 6, 2020

--

From “What does race have to do with religion and cults?”

by Carolyn Kiely, on Bayoumi’s “Racing Religion

whiteness decision meme
https://twitter.com/a_fragment_/status/1305322808290009089/photo/1
midsommar maypole

(Also I know the poster for this class lured you in with a Midsommar screenshot and then I never included Midsommar on the syllabus BUT it is available to stream via Kanopy and I’m not opposed to considering an extra credit film analysis on the movie. And if you’re curious about what I think of the movie, I live-tweeted it with a bunch of nerds early on in quarantine.)

--

--

Megan Goodwin
Cults & Sects

author of _Abusing Religion_, co-host of “Keeping It 101: A Killjoy’s Introduction to Religion Podcast,” and wikipedia-certified expert on (ugh) cults