Gutbloom
The Currentivist
Published in
1 min readFeb 27, 2016

--

It gets worse, I’m sorry to say. I eat a fraction of what I once ate. Every year my diet improves. I eat better, exercise more, and meditate more often, but I feel about the same. You have kids so you know. You’ve watched a toddler take a fall that would kill you, watched them eat and enjoy their food like a buddha, looked at the unimaginable health of their skin and hair, and felt the furnace of their metabolism. How is it that we only see these things when they are lost?

One day I was sitting reading the paper and I got frustrated and said, “shit, I can’t see this thing.” Yes, just like that. I had, in a couple of weeks it seemed, lost a significant amount of near sight. I now have to wear bifocals. I try to adapt with dignity, but their is nothing cool about bifocals. I don’t mind getting old, I just wish I had known how easy it was to be young when I was young.

--

--

Gutbloom
The Currentivist

Tribune of Medium. Mayor Emeritus of LiveJournal. Third Pharaoh of the Elusive Order of St. John the Dwarf. I am to Medium what bratwurst is to food.