Meet a Contentlian: Kelly Wenzel

The makings of an award-winning CMO: attitude, integrity, and the compassion to make a difference through mentorship.

Contently
Life at Contently
4 min readMar 7, 2017

--

What’s your favorite quote?

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

-Dr. Maya Angelou

I recently had someone tell me I was the best boss they’ve never had, and it truly meant the world to me. It’s incredibly important to understand the impact or lasting impression your work has on others. I’ve found when you get to the executive level, people assume you just know these things and refrain from giving feedback. I still like to hear if a presentation was helpful or how something I said could be improved.

Where did you grow up, and what was it like?

I grew up in a suburban neighborhood in Hamilton, NJ. I had a pretty idyllic childhood that instilled many of the values I hold myself to today.

My dad was a high school guidance counselor who dedicated 30 years of his career to helping inner city kids. He cultivated a hard work ethic in our family. At a very young age, I was taught to dress for the job I wanted, not the one I have. Even in our soccer uniforms, we were expected to be presentable at all times; socks on properly and with a crisp presence. I am often dismayed at the revealing clothes I sometimes see on young women in today’s workplace. A polished appearance still says a lot about you! People in leadership pay attention to these things. My mother taught me this and most importantly, to believe in myself. I feel like those words are ingrained in my brain and color everything I do. Failure is not an option.

Describe your journey to becoming a CMO.

My interest in storytelling began at a very young age actually. When I was eight, I wrote my first newsletter, printed it on a mimeograph, and proceeded to walk door to door selling it in the neighborhood. I knew then, I was fascinated with storytelling. In high school, I was the editor of our school newspaper and decided to major in journalism at the University of South Carolina. I landed my first job as a copywriter in an agency and worked the ropes up to VP by the time I was 30. My career trajectory now spans over 20 years in building successful teams. There is real magic in the ability to empower people to deliver results.

What’s the most interesting place you have lived or visited?

I absolutely love to travel. When I first met my husband, we traveled to 26 cities together during our first year of dating. But I am an East Coast girl at heart and made that very clear to him from day one (he’s from San Francisco). New York is still the most interesting place I’ve ever lived. One of the most amazing trips I’ve ever experienced, though, was a South African safari adventure for a friend’s wedding. To see nature in that element was truly breathtaking. I would love to do that again some day.

What’s the (non work-related) thing on your life to-do list that you want to do the most?

I would really love to travel to Australia, Ireland, and Scotland. Though my son has an obsession with Antarctica, so I guess I will have to plan a family trip there at some point.

Tell us something about yourself that no one would guess.

I survived a stroke and heart surgery at age 35.

What are you most passionate about?

I am really passionate about mentoring women, and I’m involved in a few programs such as AWNY to facilitate this. At my first job out of college, I was fortunate to have a creative director who just took me under her wing. It made a world of difference in navigating the corporate environment at such a young age.

I believe that all women, especially those who are fortunate enough to have mentors, should always pay it forward. We would have such a better workplace if we all did this.

What are your tips for finding the right mentor?

Firstly, I’ve learned the best mentor relationships are not solicited but sparked organically. Essentially, the authentic mentors will find you. But if there’s someone in the workplace who inspires you, there are ways to get on their radar.

Start by asking to sit in on meetings they’re in. Volunteer to contribute or solve problems. Anticipate the task that hasn’t been assigned yet. Go the extra mile to make your boss’ job easier. Hard work does not go unnoticed.

Know that reputation matters and likability cannot be ignored completely. Women particularly have a tendency to put their heads down and assume people will notice their work. You have to take initiative and make your work known. Pay attention to the impressions you want to leave with other people. Key decision makers are more likely to pay attention to people who are already being noticed by others.

--

--

Contently
Life at Contently

The world's best content marketing runs on Contently. For freelance news and advice from our magazine, follow @TheFreelancer.