Live Review: Pixies Headline an Indie Rock Trifecta at MGM Music Hall

Rob Duguay
Culture Beat
Published in
4 min readJun 13, 2023

--

Photo of the Pixies by Corwin Wickersham

Tours where the entire lineup is stacked full of talent isn’t a secret of any sort, but they’re still a rarity. Only a few happen every year and so far, I’ve been fortunate to catch a handful of them when they’ve come through New England. This can be said for the show I saw on June 8 when Boston alt-rock icons the Pixies electrified a sold-out evening at the MGM Music Hall located within the hallowed confines of Fenway Park. Glasgow post-punk revivalists Franz Ferdinand and Nashville garage rock shredders Bully were also on the bill. It was my first time being at this venue since it opened last year, and I have to say that it was a fantastic experience.

After leaving my apartment in Providence and navigating the adventure that comes with driving in Boston traffic, I found a decent parking spot and made my way to MGM Music Hall. When I got inside, I immediately discovered that the establishment is legitimately gigantic with two well-sized balconies overlooking both the ground floor and the extravagant stage. There wasn’t a bad seat in the house either, each location provided a great view of what was going on. Bully, who just released their new album Lucky For You on June 2, already started performing in front of an early small crowd. Led by vocalist and guitarist Alicia Bognanno, the band played a lot of material off of their…

--

--

Rob Duguay
Culture Beat

Editor-In-Chief & Founder of Culture Beat on Medium. Freelance Arts & Entertainment Journalist based in Providence, RI. Email: rob.c.duguay@gmail.com