Rob’s Album of The Week: And So I Watch You From Afar’s Megafauna

Rob Duguay
Culture Beat
Published in
3 min readAug 12, 2024

Even as I’ve gotten older and I’m well past my teens and 20’s, I still get excited about certain albums when they’re freshly released. The anticipation gives me a rush that I can’t properly describe, and when I’m diving into the new batch of songs it’s a genuine feeling of bliss. Anyone who knows me well has heard me exclaim my love for the Belfast experimental rock act And So I Watch You From Afar at least once. Their new album Megafauna, which came out on August 9 via Velocity Records, is a stellar example of what I just described. The sound quality of the full-length has them returning to their raw, unbridled roots with excellent instrumentation being at the forefront.

Throughout the band’s history, they’ve done numerous shifts with their approach to music. Sometimes it’s incorporating vocals that are somewhat akin to chanting while at other times it’s incorporating synths and other elements to create different tones. This time around, the quartet of guitarists Rory Friers and Niall Kennedy, bassist Ewen Friers and drummer and percussionist Chris Wee have turned back the clock. It’s a barrage of riffs, beats and progressions with abstract arrangements, which is very reminiscent of their older material. It’s also a pure experience that’s bound to make whoever is listening feel a sense of catharsis.

I think what creates this particular feeling is the freeform nature. The only thing that confines And So I Watch You From Afar their lineup and their unique array of talents. Everything else seems to be fair game when it comes to the sound they’re capturing and how the songs are coming across. This has the ability to provide a liberating sensation, and I think it’s a beautiful thing. For a more in-depth look at this, here are my top tracks off of the Album of The Week:

“Do Mór” is the first single I heard off of Megafauna that was unveiled earlier this year and it made for a stellar introduction. I love how it builds up with the guitars getting louder and louder. There’s a similar structure within “Gallery of Honour”, but there’s a lot more energy. The same can be said for “Button Days” and it exemplifies the reflective vibe of the album. This especially true with the dynamic from both the drums and guitars harking back to the band’s first batch of recordings.

And So I Watch You From Afar just finished up a run of shows around North America with the post-rock titans Caspian. Now they’re going to be perusing around the United Kingdom for a tour that’ll be starting at the ArcTanGent Festival taking place at Fernhill Farm in Bristol from August 14–17. Other notable dates include New Century in Manchester on December 13, Electric Brixton in London on December 15 and St. Luke’s in Glasgow on December 17. I really hope they come play somewhere in New England in the near future, but in the meantime, grab a copy of Megafauna. If you love amplification and emphasis in your music, then you have to check out this album.

In order to make Culture Beat’s content available to everyone, we decided to stop utilizing a paywall. With this being said, we are utilizing the crowdfunding service Buy Me A Coffee in order to have our readers support our endeavors, which they can do so right here.

--

--

Rob Duguay
Culture Beat

Editor-In-Chief & Founder of Culture Beat on Medium. Freelance Arts & Entertainment Journalist based in Providence, RI. Email: rob.c.duguay@gmail.com